Delectable Dark Chocolate Coconut Balls

Standard

Image

I made these last night and Oh are they scrumptious!

10 medjool dates, pitted

1/2 cup pecans, chopped

1/2 cup almond slices

1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut (plus more for topping)

2 tablespoons dark chocolate, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 to 2 tablespoons water

1/3 cup chocolate chips such as Enjoy Life Chips (optional)

2 bars dark chocolate, melted

Instructions:

In the bowl of a food processor place dates, pecans, almonds, coconut, melted dark chocolate, vanilla extract, and cinnamon.  Process ingredients until well blended.  Add 1 tablespoon of water at a time to the bowl until a ball of dough forms.  Once dough is formed stir in chocolate chips, if using.

Form dough into tablespoon size balls.  You should be able to make about 10 to 12 balls.  Once formed place in a container and freeze for 15 to 20 minutes until solid.

In a double broiler, melt dark chocolate.  Take the balls out of freezer and coat a bite in the melted dark chocolate and place on wax paper.  Sprinkle coconut flakes on top of the bite.  Repeat with the remaining bites.  Place in the freezer or refrigerator until the bites have set.

When ready to enjoy, allow the bites to come to room temperature.  Or you can enjoy right out of the freezer or refrigerator.

Compliments of http://www.multiplydelicious.com/thefood/2011/12/dark-chocolate-coconut-bites/

About cindyschoenit

Hi there. Welcome to Good Eats and Yummy Treats. My name is Cindy and I love to put my hands to tasks. Put me in a kitchen (bigger than the one I have, pleaseeee), put me in a flower shop (one day I hope to open my own), put me in a craft store....maybe not such a good idea... I'd be broke. Wherever you put me, I love to create. I love food, I love people, I love music, I love the outdoors, I love animals, especially CATS and horses. I just love to love, and most importantly, I love Jesus!

Leave a Reply

